It’s been a very long time since my last entry, because other things
are always more urgent and important. I’m not sure I can spare the time
now, but I will.

Back at school for four weeks, and it’s been pretty good. Most of the
time I can see the results of my efforts, but, every now and then, I
realise that it still requires me being there to make it all work, so
there is still a long way to go. We have four new expatriate teachers
this year, and they all look like they will be the “goods”. The two
“survivors” are also contributing well. I need a maths teacher though,
and, even if we get someone in January, it will be too late to take the
VCE class from me.

The VCE kids didn’t like the change from their teacher of more than two
years to me, initially, but I think they realise they’re being catered
for pretty well. It’s a lot of work to get many of them to anything
like pass standard in the next two months. We’ll see how it goes.

The other task is getting some music together for a couple of events at
the end of the month, related to the 75th birthday of the bloke who
owns our school, and pretty much everything else for kilometres. (And
that’s a small part of his business.)

At the moment, we are rationalising stuff in our cupboards, before
moving to another, bigger place in two weeks. There’s not as much stuff
to throw out as I thought. There is a lot of of stuff to move, even if
it is only 2km away.

Leave a Reply

